Institute of Public Building and Design

The teaching and research of our institute deals with the design and experience of architectural spaces as a condition of public life.

Designing space of public life

After a period of displacement of public spaces by car and a transformation of public life from the urban context to a digital context, it is necessary to rethink about the relationship of the human body in the physical space.

The understanding of our physical world, whether it is nature or architecture, requires a new awareness and a holistic perception of our physical environment as a direct communication and emotion space beyond the digital image. The complexity of public space eludes one-sided optimization. Only from this insight a city can become a positive, meaningful and aesthetic expression of our society. Their diversity requires a long-term cultural reflection before acting. The city built, is a constant that gives identity.

The architecture of public buildings is the cultivated expression of the physics of motionless bodies - the statics. In oposit the dance of the dynamics, the physics of moving bodies finds its most cultivated expression. Public buildings generate a specific relationship of openness and unity, which makes it possible to protect and create a special atmosphere accessible at the same time. This relationship has to be designed.

Dieses Bild zeigt

Institut für öffentliche Bauten und Entwerfen

Lehre und Forschung des Instituts handeln vom Entwerfen und Erleben architektonischer Räume als Bedingung für das öffentliche Leben.

Raum für öffentliches Leben

Nach einer Zeit der Verdrängung des öffentlichen Raums durch das Auto und einer weitgehenden Transformation des öffentlichen Lebens aus dem urbanen Kontext in den digitalen ist es notwendig, neu über die Beziehung des menschlichen Körpers im physischen Raum nachzudenken.

Das Verständnis für unsere physische Lebenswelt, sei sie Natur oder Architektur, erfordert eine neue Sensibilisierung und eine ganzheitliche Wahrnehmung unserer physischen Umwelt als unmittelbarer Daseinskommunikations- und Emotionsraum jenseits des digitalen Abbilds. Die Komplexität des öffentlichen Raums entzieht sich einer einseitigen Optimierung. Nur aus dieser Einsicht kann eine Stadt positiver, sinnfälliger und ästhetischer Ausdruck unserer Gesellschaft werden. Ihre Vielfalt erfordert eine langfristige kulturelle Reflexion vor dem Handeln. Die gebaute Stadt ist eine Konstante, die Identität verleiht.

Die Architektur öffentlicher Bauten ist der kultivierte Ausdruck der Physik der unbewegten Körper, der Statik. Ihr gegenüber findet im Tanz die Dynamik die Physik der bewegten Körper ihren kultiviertesten Ausdruck. Öffentliche Bauten generieren ein spezifisches Verhältnis aus Offenheit und Geschlossenheit, das es ermöglicht, eine besondere Atmosphäre gleichzeitig zu schützen und zugänglich zu machen. Dieses Verhältnis gilt es zu entwerfen.